If you were logged in you would gain 3 XP for posting a reply.

Please respect our terms of use when participating in Nibbits.

Preview
Comment
We will show a masked version of your IP address as well as your name.

You are replying to:

• OK, so I've been taking a closer look at the Cache files and I've not been able to figure out how they work exactly. I have figured out what some of the files actually are or appear to be.

I've never done something like this before, so forgive me if some of this post is n00b :)

.s2mv
    After opening this file in HEX editor I saw "DDS". After I downloaded a DDS plugin for photoshop and I renamed the file from .s2mv to .DDS I could open it in photoshop.
    Basically the .s2mv is the map preview in the map menu.

.s2ql
    Not really sure what this is for. It looks like a list of available settings, but editing them made no change in game. You can open it in any text editor as it's pretty much a normal .xml file. There seems to be copies of the same file, but in different languages.

.s2ml
    Again, I'm not 100% sure what these file are for. I think they have something to do with the descriptions of the maps in game, but even after I edited them I could not find a difference in game. They are also just xml and there are copies of the same file, but in different languages.

.s2ma
    This is the actual map which you can open in a MPG editor.

.s2mi and .s2mh
    I have not been able to figure out what these files are for. I think they might be the key to getting custom maps into the Cache without having to publish and then download a map, but I've been unable to open them in such a way that I could read it.

.xml
    This is a file that I missed while I was working on the others. So I've not had the opportunity to edit some of the data inside to see what changes it may bring in game. It looks like the settings that are available for a map, but there's only a few of these files.

Directory structure